Amherst and Middlebury Capture NESCAC Cross Country Titles

Amherst and Middlebury Capture NESCAC Cross Country Titles

Courtesy of Tufts Sports Information

BOSTON, Mass.  – The Middlebury College women’s cross country team won its 14th NESCAC Championship and the Amherst College men’s cross country team captured its second straight NESCAC title on a rainy Saturday at Franklin Park in Boston, Mass. Tufts hosted the 2018 NESCAC Cross Country Championships for the first time since 2002.


Middlebury head coach Nicole Wilkerson’s team placed all five scorers in the top 15 to win the event with a 47 team score.

The Panthers ended Williams’ three-year run as NESCAC Champs and won their first title since 2014. The Ephs were the runner-up with a team score of 73 and Wesleyan (84 points) followed in third place.

Colby College sophomore Sophia Gorman won the individual title by a healthy margin with a time of 21:54.8 across the muddy six-kilometer course. Tufts senior Natalie Bettez was 14 seconds behind her as the runner-up (22:08.4).

Middlebury - 2018 NESCAC Women's Cross Country Champion Senior Rory Kelly led the victorious Panthers with a third-place finish of 22:30.1. She was followed by rookie teammate Cassie Kearney in fourth place (22:35.9). Also scoring for Middlebury was sophomore Tasha Greene in 11th (23:06 flat), senior Claire Gomba in 14th (23:09.7) and sophomore Katie Glew in 15th (23:11.5).

Gorman, Bettez, Kelly, and Kearney were joined by Bates senior Katie Barker (22:37.8), Williams junior Emma Hermann (22:47.5), and Wesleyan junior Sara Pinsonault (22:51.8) as All-NESCAC First Team (top seven) performers.

Along with Middlebury’s Greene and Gomba on the All-NESCAC Second Team (places eight through 14) were Wesleyan sophomore Rebecca Lopez-Anido (22:58.5), Williams senior Emily Harris (23:03.8), Williams junior Audrey Rustad (23:05.6), Bates senior Ayden Eickhoff (23:06.8), and Colby senior Helen Chavey (23:07.3).

Amherst - 2018 NESCAC Men's Cross Country Champion After winning their first-ever conference crown last season, the Mammoths repeated today with a team score of 60 points as their top five finishers all scored in the top 25. Amherst was led by senior Cosmo Brossy’s third-place time of 25:29.3. Junior Clark Ricciardelli (25:48.3) and senior Tucker Meijer (26:00.8) finished sixth and 10th, respectively. Sophomore Ajay Sarathy in 16th (26:11.8) and sophomore Billy Massey (26:23.1) in 25th rounded out the scoring for head coach Cassie Funke-Harris' team.

Second-place Williams College (86 points) was led by individual champion Ryan Cox. The junior out-legged a pack of four runners down the stretch to win the race with a time of 25:27.8. Connecticut College junior Danny Aschale (25:29 flat), Brossy and Bowdoin senior Sean McDonald (25:29.8) were all within two seconds behind Cox in the eight-kilometer race.

Third-place Middlebury College was right on Williams’ heels with a team score of 88 points.

In addition to the top four individuals, Colby sophomore Eli Decker (25:41.3), Ricciardelli, and Connecticut College senior Scott Mason (25:53.4) earn All-NESCAC First Team accolades for placing among the top seven.

All-NESCA Second Team performers (spots eight through 14) were Bates junior James Jones (25:56.6), Middlebury senior Jon Perlman (25:57.6), Meijer, Connecticut College senior Price Day (26:02.8), Williams sophomore Aidan Ryan (26:05.9), Middlebury junior Theo Henderson (26:07.3) and Tufts senior Colin Raposo (26:07.5).

1. Amherst - 60 pts.
2. Williams - 86 pts.
3. Middlebury - 88 pts.
4. Bates - 111 pts.
5. Connecticut College - 148 pts.
6. Bowdoin - 156 pts.
7. Tufts - 159 pts.
8. Colby - 185 pts.
9. Trinity - 241 pts.
10. Wesleyan - 276 pts.
11. Hamilton - 285 pts.

1. Middlebury - 47 pts.
2. Williams - 73 pts.
3. Wesleyan - 84 pts.
4. Tufts - 124 pts.
5. Bates - 128 pts.
6. Colby - 154 pts.
7. Bowdoin - 164 pts.
8. Amherst - 213 pts.
9. Hamilton - 226 pts.
9. Trinity - 226 pts.
11. Connecticut College - 249 pts