Bowdoin, Tufts & Wesleyan Earn NCAA Volleyball Tournament Bids

2019 NCAA Tournament Selections

HADLEY, Mass. - Bowdoin, Tufts, and Wesleyan will compete in the 2019 NCAA Volleyball Championship. The entire field includes 64 teams from around the country. Match times, ticket information, and live coverage links for all games will be announced on institutional websites as information becomes available. The championship will be held November 21-23 at the U.S. Cellular Center in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, with the American Rivers Conference serving as host.


Tufts (27-1) earned an automatic berth after winning its second NESCAC Championship in program history and first since 1996 with a 3-2 victory over No. 3 Bowdoin in the NESCAC Tournament. The Jumbos, who went 10-0 in NESCAC play, will host a regional for the fourth time (2008, 2009, 2016) on November 15, 16, and 17. The Jumbos won Regional titles on their home floor and advanced to the quarterfinals in 2009 and 2016. Tufts are making their ninth NCAA appearance and will face NECC Champion Eastern Nazarene (17-6) in the opening round. 

Bowdoin (18-7) earned an at-large berth after finishing as the NESCAC Runner-Up at last weekend's NESCAC Championship. The Polar Bears are making their sixth NCAA Tournament appearance and the third in five years. Bowdoin has advanced to the "Sweet Sixteen" three times and made an "Elite Eight" appearance in 2015. The Polar Bears will play CCC winner Endicott (23-7) in the first round. Other matches at the Tufts regional are GNAC Champ Johnson & Wales University (27-4) versus Maine Maritime Academy (24-3), the NAC Champion and NEWMAC winner Babson (32-1) versus Little East titlist UMass Boston (12-18).

Wesleyan (20-4) is returning to the NCAA Tournament field for the third consecutive season. The Cardinals earned an at-large bid after advancing to the NESCAC Semifinals. Wesleyan will travel to Clarkson (25-5) for regional play. The Cardinals will meet St. John Fisher (23-10), the Empire 8 Champion, in the first round. The winner will face either Ithaca (18-10), the Liberty League Runner-Up, or Morrisville State (23-7), the NEAC Champion. Clarkson (25-5), the Liberty League Champion, will play Westfield State (14-16), the MASCAC winner, while Wellesley (22-5), an at-large selection, faces SUNYAC Champion, Brockport (19-10), in the final first-round match in the regional.

Forty-three conferences were awarded an automatic qualification for the 2019 championship. One institution was selected from Pool B, which includes independent institutions and institutions from conferences that do not meet the automatic qualification criteria. The final 20 berths were reserved for Pool C, which consists of institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and independent institutions.