NESCAC Women’s Soccer All-Conference Teams Announced

Victoria Laino, Williams
HADLEY, Mass. – Williams junior Victoria Laino (Charlotte, Vt.) is the NESCAC Player of the Year as voted by the league’s coaches. Laino also garnered a spot on the All-NESCAC First Team to earn the first all-conference honor of her career. She is the third Eph in four years to be named NESCAC Player of the Year and the seventh overall since 1999, joining Jill Caterer (1999), Gabrielle Woodson (2007), Brianna Wolfson (2009), Sara Wild (2010), Kristie Kirshe (2016), and Danielle Sim (2017).
A midfielder, Laino leads Williams in points (18) and goals (8) and has recorded two assists. She registered 12 points and five goals in NESCAC games this season to lead Williams to the No. 3 seed in the NESCAC Championship. The Ephs reached the semifinals of the NESCAC Tournament and earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament. Williams, the two-time defending national champion, travels to MIT for the opening rounds of the NCAA Tournament this weekend.
Wesleyan first-year forward Grace Devanny (Concord, N.H.) has been selected as the NESCAC Rookie of the Year. She is the second Cardinal to garner the honor since 2000, joining Laura Kurash (2009). Devanny finished the season tied for the league lead in goals (10) and tied for second in points (22). She posted four multi-goal games this year to help Wesleyan qualify for the NESCAC Championship for the second consecutive season.
Tufts head coach Martha Whiting was selected as the NESCAC Coach of the Year by her peers. She earned the honor for the second time in three years and the fifth time overall in her 21 years at the helm of the Jumbos. This season, Whiting guided the team to the No. 1 seed in the NESCAC Championship for the fourth time in program history. Tufts advanced to the semifinals and earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament. The Jumbos are making their third straight trip to the NCAA Tournament and will travel to TCNJ for the opening rounds.

Women's Soccer All-Conference Teams

Player of the Year: Victoria Laino, Williams
Rookie of the Year:
Grace Devanny, Wesleyan
Coach of the Year:
Martha Whiting, Tufts

First Team All-NESCAC
Pos. Name Institution Yr. Hometown
GK Ursula Alwang = Middlebury Sr. Weston, Conn.
D Bella Palma = Amherst Sr. Newburyport, Mass.
D Isabelle Hartnett Middlebury Jr. Wellesley, Mass.
D Nkem Iregbulem Williams Sr. Torrance, Calif.
D Sarah Maloney * Tufts Sr. Bridgewater, Mass.
M Virginia Charman Middlebury Sr. Wenham, Mass.
M Victoria Laino Williams Jr. Charlotte, Vt.
M Gretchen McGrath Middlebury Jr. Exeter, N.H.
F Cat Gambino = Hamilton Jr. Westbury, N.Y.
F Alexa Juarez R Amherst So. Hawthorn Woods, Ill.
F Sophie Lloyd =@& Tufts Jr. Los Altos, Calif.
F Liz Reed * Tufts Jr. Lynnfield, Mass.


Second Team All-NESCAC
Pos. Name Institution Yr. Hometown
GK Antonia Tammaro = Amherst Jr. Lynnfield, Mass.
D Sloan Askins Amherst Sr. Pasadena, Calif.
D Morgen Gallagher =%2 Bowdoin Sr. Norwell, Mass.
D Mackenzie Mitchell Wesleyan Sr. Ridgefield, Conn.
D Kim Zhou Amherst So. McLean, Va.
M Lynn Farquhar Bowdoin Jr. Bethesda, Md.
M Alex Fontana Hamilton Sr. Fayetteville, N.Y.
M Tricia Pollock & Trinity Sr. Danvers, Mass.
M Jenna Tricolli * Tufts Sr. Bethesda, Md.
F Simone Ameer Middlebury Jr. Washington, D.C.
F Grace Devanny Wesleyan Fy. Concord, N.H.
F Kat Norton =& Connecticut College Jr. Hampton, Conn.
* - 2018 First Team
= - 2018 Second Team
R - 2018 Rookie of the Year
@ - 2017 Rookie of the Year
& - 2017 Second Team
% - 2016 Rookie of the Year
2 - 2016 Second Team