Women's Soccer All-NESCAC Teams Unveiled

Amherst's Rubii Tamen is the NESCAC Player of the Year

HADLEY, Mass. - Amherst senior Rubii Tamen was selected as the NESCAC Player of the Year and also earned a spot on the All-NESCAC First Team for the second straight season. The forward is the sixth Mammoth to garner the award and first since 2011, joining former Amherst players Catherine Poor (2001), Ashley Harmeling (2003), Amy Armstrong (2006), Meg Murphy (2008), and Kathryn Nathan (2011). Tamen leads the NESCAC in goals (14) and points (28) and has tallied six game-winning markers. Amherst earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament field and will host first and second-round matches.

• Middlebury seniors Clare Robinson and Janie Devito earn their first All-NESCAC First Team accolades. Robinson, a midfielder, has started all 17 games and has three points for the Panthers. DeVito, a defender, has seen action in all 17 games, making 15 starts and has played a role in a Panther defensive unit that has limited opponents to nine goals this year. By virtue of winning the NESCAC Championship, Middlebury earned an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. The Panthers will host opening round action on November 10 and 11.
• Four Jumbos earned a spot on the All-NESCAC First Team led by senior Emily Bowers, who returns to the First Team for the second year in a row. Juniors Jenna Troccoli and Sarah Maloney, along with sophomore Liz Reed, garner their first All-NESCAC accolades. Bowers carries a 0.70 goals against average and a .844 save percentage in net for the Jumbos. She broke the career shutout mark at Tufts, after posting nine clean sheets this season. Maloney and Troccoli have started every game they have played this season and contributed four and five points, respectively, from their midfielder positions. Reed ranks fifth in the conference in scoring with 23 points on eight goals and seven assists. The quartet helped Tufts earn an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament. 
• Williams, the NESCAC Runner-Up, had three players earn a spot on the All-NESCAC First Team, led by senior goalkeeper Olivia Barnhill. Barnhill earns her first First Team honor after being named to the Second Team in 2016 and 2017. She has played all but 64 minutes in net for the Ephs, and owns a 0.45 goals against average with a .877 save percentage and eight shutouts. Junior defender Sarah Kelly and sophomore forward Sydney Jones pick up their first career All-NESCAC accolades. Kelly has been an important piece of a Williams defense that has limited opponents to nine goals. Jones is the team’s leading scorer with 20 points in 18 games. She has scored seven game-winning goals and registered nine tallies for the NCAA-bound Ephs. Williams, the defending national champion, was an at-large selection and will host first and second-round matches on November 10-11.
• Bowdoin senior midfielder Julia Patterson is making her third appearance on the All-NESCAC First Team. The 2015 NESCAC Rookie of the Year was selected to the First Team in 2015 and 2017. Patterson tied for the team lead in points (10) and started all 16 games for the Polar Bears.
• Junior Rhone O’Hara represented Trinity on the First Team and earned her first All-NESCAC honor. O’Hara started all 15 matches as a defender for the Bantams and handed out two assists.
• Wesleyan senior Lauren Goetzman, a Second Team selection last season, rounds out the All-NESCAC First Team honorees with her second career All-NESCAC honor. Goetzman tied for the team lead in points (13) and goals (6), while playing in 12 matches.
• Amherst first-year Alexa Juarez earns NESCAC Rookie of the Year honors. She is the third Mammoth to garner the accolade, joining Meg Murphy (2006) and Amanda Brisco (2010). The forward has started all 16 games, and ranks second in the league in assists (6), while recording 20 points for the NESCAC Semifinalists. This is the third year since 2000 that a team has swept both the Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year honors. The Mammoths also achieved the feat in 2006 along with Connecticut College in 2014.
• Middlebury head coach Peter Kim was selected as the NESCAC Coach of the Year by his peers. Kim directed the Panthers to their fourth NESCAC title and 11th trip to the NCAA Tournament. Kim earns the Coach of the Year honor for the sixth time in his 15-year career at Middlebury. He also collected the accolade in 2004, 2006, 2009, 2012, and 2013.

Women's Soccer All-Conference Teams

Player of the Year: Rubii Tamen, Amherst
Rookie of the Year: 
Alexa Juarez, Amherst
Coach of the Year: 
Peter Kim, Middlebury

2018 NESCAC Women's Soccer All-Conference First Team
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Sydney Jones Williams So. Boca Raton, Fla.
F Liz Reed Tufts So. Lynnfield, Mass.
F Rubii Tamen Amherst Sr. Washington, D.C.
M Lauren Goetzman Wesleyan Sr. Hidden Hills, Calif.
M Julia Patterson Bowdoin Sr. Hingham, Mass.
M Clare Robinson Middlebury Sr. Davidson, N.C.
M Jenna Troccoli Tufts Jr. Bethesda, Md.
D Janie DeVito Middlebury Sr. Rumson, N.J.
D Sarah Kelly Williams Jr. Ho-Ho-Kus, N.J.
D Sarah Maloney Tufts Jr. Bridgewater, Mass.
D Rhone O'Hara Trinity Jr. Woodstock, Conn.
GK Olivia Barnhill Williams Sr. New York, N.Y.
GK Emily Bowers Tufts Sr. Needham, Mass.
2018 NESCAC Women's Soccer All-Conference Second Team
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Cat Gambino Hamilton So. Westbury, N.Y.
F Sophie Lloyd Tufts So. Los Altos, Calif.
F Kat Norton Connecticut College So. Hampton, Conn.
F Eliza Van Voorhis Middlebury So. Mattapoisett, Mass.
M Amanda Dafonte Middlebury Sr. Pennington, N.J.
M Morgen Gallagher Bowdoin Jr. Norwell, Mass.
M Caleigh Plaut Amherst Sr. Irvington, N.Y.
M Sarah Scire Williams Jr. Wykoff, N.J.
D Cassie Hayward Hamilton Sr. Ashford, Conn.
D Katie McKillop Hamilton Sr. Aquebogue, N.Y.
D Bella Palma Amherst Jr. Newburyport, Mass.
D Liz Webber Williams Jr. Natick, Mass.
GK Ursula Alwang Middlebury Jr. Weston, Conn.
GK Antonia Tammaro Amherst So. Lynnfield, Mass.