Women's Lacrosse All-NESCAC Selections Announced

Tufts' Dakota Adamec is the NESCAC Women's Lacrosse Player of the Year
HADLEY, Mass. - Tufts senior attack Dakota Adamec (Katonah, N.Y.) has been named the 2019 NESCAC Player of the Year as voted on by the league’s coaches. Adamec repeats as the NESCAC Player of the Year and is an All-NESCAC First Team selection for the second straight season. She is the third-leading scorer on the Tufts squad with 47 points on 40 goals and seven assists to go with 38 draw controls. Adamec is the only Tufts player to earn NESCAC Player of the Year honors.
Fellow Jumbos Hedy Veith (Alexandria, Va.) and Colette Smith (Moorestown, N.J.) also grabbed individual NESCAC awards. Veith, a senior, was selected as the NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year, while Smith garnered NESCAC Rookie of the Year honors. Veith also earned her second all-conference accolade with a spot on the First Team after being selected to the Second Team in 2018. She has started all 16 games for the Jumbos and registered 29 ground balls and 17 caused turnovers. She has been a key player for the Tufts defense that owns a goals against average of 8.02. Smith has tallied 50 (37-13-50) points in 11 games for the Jumbos and is 7-for-14 in free-position situations as Tufts, the No. 2 seed, heads into the NESCAC Semifinals for the first time since 2015.
For the first time since 2001, two coaches share the NESCAC Coach of the Year honor. Middlebury head coach Kate Livesay and Tufts head coach Courtney Shute were voted Co-Coach of the Year after guiding their teams to the No. 1 and No. 2 seeds, respectively, in the NESCAC Championship. Livesay earns the honor for the first time at the helm of the Panthers but was recognized as the NESCAC Coach of the Year four times (2007, 2010, 2011, 2012) while directing fellow NESCAC member Trinity College. Shute earns Coach of the Year recognition for the first time in her six seasons with the Jumbos.
Senior Emma McDonagh (Reading, Mass.) along with sophomores Erin Nicholas (Scarsdale, N.Y.) and Addy Mitchell (Medfield, Mass.) represent top-seeded and defending champion Middlebury on the First Team. McDonagh earns her first career All-NESCAC accolade and is leading the Panthers in scoring with 59 points (44-14-58) in 16 starts at attack. Nicholas, a midfielder, is Middlebury’s leader in draw controls (51) and has contributed 18 points (16-2-18). Mitchell, a defender, moves up from the Second Team in 2018 to the First Team this season for her second all-conference award. She plays a key role for the Panther defense that owns the best goals against average in the conference at 6.80. Mitchell leads the league in caused turnovers (39) and is tied for first in the conference in ground balls (46).
Seniors Abigail Horst (Pomfret, Conn.) and Caroline Sgaglione (Glen Head, N.Y.), along with juniors Allegra Grant (Winnetka, Ill.) and Abby Manning (Wilmington, Del.) represented Wesleyan on the All-NESCAC First Team. Horst, a midfielder, repeats as a First Team honoree. She has started every game and netted 42 goals and tallied 44 points. She also has won 61 draw controls and posted 16 caused turnovers. Sgaglione is a three-time All-NESCAC First Team performer and has posted solid numbers of 51 draw controls, 30 caused turnovers, and 26 ground balls for the Cardinals. Manning leads Wesleyan’s attack with 61 points and is tied for the most goals in the league with 55. Grant, an All-American goalie for the Wesleyan women’s ice hockey team, has a .484 save percentage to go with a goals against average of 7.64. The Cardinals rank second as a team in goals against average (7.68). The third-seeded Cardinals are playing in the NESCAC Semifinals for the first time in program history and have set school records for most wins the past three seasons. 
Bowdoin sophomores Eliza Denious (Wilton, Conn.) and Katie Miller (Rye, N.Y.), along with Hamilton senior Kara Pooley (Wexford, Pa.) round out the All-NESCAC First Team. Miller and Denious ranked 1-2 among the Polar Bears’ leading scorers and helped Bowdoin qualify for the NESCAC Championship as the fifth seed. Miller scored a team-high 55 goals and finished the year with 64 points and 44 draw controls. Denious added 59 points on 46 goals and 13 assists while causing 20 turnovers.
Pooley, a midfielder, earns all-conference honors for the second time in her career. A Second Team selection in 2017, she moves to the First Team this season. Pooley ranked second in the conference in caused turnovers (37) and added 54 draw controls and 37 ground balls for the Continentals. She also paced the Hamilton offense with 44 points (23-21-44).

Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams

Player of the Year: Dakota Adamec, Tufts
Defensive Player of the Year: Hedy Veith, Tufts
Rookie of the Year: Colette Smith, Tufts
Co-Coaches of the Year: Kate Livesay, Middlebury & Courtney Shute, Tufts

2019 NESCACWomen's Lacrosse All-Conference First Team
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
A Dakota Adamec Tufts Sr. Katonah, N.Y.
A Abby Manning Wesleyan Jr. Wilmington, Del.
A Emma McDonagh Middlebury Sr. Reading, Mass.
A Katie Miller Bowdoin So. Rye, N.Y.
M Eliza Denious Bowdoin So. Wilton, Conn.
M Abigail Horst Wesleyan Sr. Pomfret, Conn.
M Erin Nicholas Middlebury So Scarsdale, N.Y.
M Kara Pooley Hamilton Sr. Wexford, Pa.
D Addy Mitchell Middlebury So. Medfield, Mass.
D Caroline Sgaglione Wesleyan Sr. Glen Head, N.Y.
D Hedy Veith Tufts Sr. Alexandria, Va.
G Allegra Grant Wesleyan Jr. Winnetka, Ill.
2019 NESCAC Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Second Team
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
A Claire Dunbar Amherst So. Lutherville, Md.
A Jane Earley Middlebury Fy. North Falmouth, Mass.
A Emily Games Tufts Jr. Wayne, Pa.
M Kara Finnerty Bowdoin Jr. Hopkinton, Mass.
M Jamie Navoni Connecticut College Sr. Natick Mass.
M Maia Noyes Amherst So. Lexington, Mass.
M Annie Sullivan Tufts Sr. Barrington, R.I.
M Emma TenBarge Williams Sr. Peapack, N.J.
D Caroline Maxwell Bowdoin Jr. Boxborough, Mass.
D Kelly Siebert Amherst Jr. Syosset, N.Y.
D Sabrina Solow Amherst Sr. Madison, N.J.
G Hannah Burrall Hamilton Sr. Geneva, N.Y.