All-NESCAC Women's Ice Hockey Teams Announced

Williams sophomore Meghan Halloran is the 2019 NESCAC Player of the Year

HADLEY, Mass. – Williams sophomore Meghan Halloran was selected as the NESCAC Women’s Ice Hockey Player of the Year by the conference coaches. Halloran is the third Eph to garner the accolade, joining Molly Wasserman (2002 & 2004) and Cristina Bravi (2014). Halloran is also the third sophomore to be named NESCAC Player of the Year in the history of the award.

Halloran, who was also an All-NESCAC First Team selection, is the league leader in points (20), goals (10), and assists (10) in conference games. She also has eight power-play points (3-5-8) in NESCAC games for the Ephs who are the top scoring team on the power play. Halloran led the Ephs to the top seed in the NESCAC Championship for the first time in program history.

Hamilton first-year Nancy Loh was recognized as the NESCAC Rookie of the Year. She is the third Continental to be honored with the award, joining Zoe Baldwin (2003) and Rebecca Hazlett (2010). Loh has 12 points on five goals and seven assists for Hamilton this season, which ranks second among rookies in scoring in conference games. The No. 3-seed Continentals will play No. 2 Middlebury in the NESCAC Semifinals.

Williams head coach Meghan Gillis was selected as the NESCAC Coach of the Year by her peers. It is the second time in her eight years at the helm she has been honored, also earning the award in 2014. Gillis guided Williams to the top seed in the NESCAC Championship for the first time in program history and the Ephs are hosting the remaining rounds of the tournament for the second time overall.

Amherst senior forward Jocelyn Hunyadi earns the first All-NESCAC accolade of her career with a spot on the First Team. She leads Amherst with 12 points in conference games on five goals and seven assists. The No. 5 Mammoths will face top-seeded Williams in the NESCAC Semifinals.

Madie Leidt, a Middlebury sophomore and the 2018 NESCAC Rookie of the Year, adds an All-NESCAC First Team honor to her list of accolades. She ranked second overall in scoring in NESCAC games with eight goals and seven assists for 15 points. She has scored seven power-play points in league games to go with a conference-high four game-winning goals. Middlebury, the No. 2 seed in the NESCAC Championship, will face No. 3 Hamilton in the semifinals.

Middlebury senior Jenna Marotta repeats as an All-NESCAC First Team selection. She ranks second among defenders in scoring in NESCAC contests with three goals and eight assists for 11 points. Her eight helpers rank third among the league leaders. Middlebury is the top scoring defense in the league (1.19 goals per game) and Marotta contributes to the Panthers’ penalty kill which leads the NESCAC.

Williams sophomore Brynn Puppe joins Marotta as a First Team defender and earns her first conference honor. Puppe leads conference defenders in scoring (5-7-12), and has totaled four power-play goals and nine power-play points in 16 NESCAC games to lead all players.

Junior Allegra Grant of Wesleyan is the First Team goaltender after being named to the Second Team last season. She posted a .938 save percentage and made 471 saves in 14 NESCAC games. The Cardinals earned a spot in the NESCAC Championship for the third year in a row.

Women's Ice Hockey All-Conference Teams

Player of the Year: Meghan Halloran, Williams
Rookie of the Year: Nancy Loh, Hamilton
Coach of the Year: Meghan Gillis, Williams

2018-19 NESCAC Women's Ice Hockey All-Conference First Team
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Meghan Halloran Williams So. Darien, Conn.
F Jocelyn Hunyadi Amherst Sr. Concord Township, Ohio
F Madie Leidt Middlebury So. Killingworth, Conn.
D Jenna Marotta Middlebury Sr. Katy, Texas
D Brynn Puppe Williams So. Northfield, Minn.
G Allegra Grant Wesleyan Jr. Winnetka, Ill.
2018-19 NESCAC Women's Ice Hockey All-Conference Second Team
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Lauren Klein Colby So. Minnetonka, Minn.
F Sierra Lee Trinity So. Ferguson's Cove, Nova Scotia
F Annie Rush Williams Sr. Anchorage, Alaska
D Taegan Blackwell Hamilton Sr. Fairfield, Conn.
D Miriam Eickhoff Amherst Sr. Hanover, N.H.
D Camille von Steinbergs Trinity So. Brea, Calif.
G Chloe Heiting Williams Fy. Woodbury, Minn.